Shopping Cart
Roy Brooks - Beat (Verve By Request Series) LP
Roy Brooks - Beat (Verve By Request Series) LP

Beat (Verve By Request Series) LP

uDiscover Music


Recorded for Berry Gordy's short-lived Workshop Jazz imprint and recorded at the Hitsville USA studio, Roy Brooks (joined by fellow Detroit natives George Bohannon and Hugh Lawson, along with his Horace Silver Quintet bandmates Blue Mitchell, Junior Cook, and Eugene Taylor) injects a Motor City soul-jazz groove into the hard bop root of this engaging 1964 album. Audio transferred from the analog tapes. Verve By Request Series features 180-gram vinyl, pressed at Third Man in Detroit.


A1. Homestretch
A2. If You Could See Me Now
A3. Passin’ The Buck
B1. Soulin’
B2. Soulsphere
B3. My Secret Passion