Shopping Cart
Ray Charles - Genius + Soul = Jazz LP
Ray Charles - Genius + Soul = Jazz LP

Genius + Soul = Jazz LP

uDiscover Music

Ray Charles


One of the original albums released on Impulse! when the label debuted in February 1961, and as the title suggests the album emphasizes Charles as a jazz instrumentalist. He also switched from his usual electric piano to a “churchy” sounding Hammond organ, brought in Count Basie’s band and used Quincy Jones’ hard-blowing arrangements. The success of the album and its single “One Mint Julep” helped put Impulse! on the map. Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.

Excluded from sitewide sales/discounts.


A1. From The Heart
A2. I’ve Got News For You
A3. Moanin’
A4. Let’s Go
A5. One Mint Julep
B1. I’m Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town
B2. Stompin’ Room Only
B3. Mister C
B4. Strike Up The Band
B5. Birth Of The Blues