Shopping Cart
Tony Williams - Foreign Intrigue LP
Tony Williams - Foreign Intrigue LP

Foreign Intrigue LP

uDiscover Music

Tony Williams


Drummer Tony Williams had a long, fruitful relationship with Blue Note Records starting in the 1960s when he appeared on numerous post-bop classics (Herbie Hancock Maiden Voyage, Eric Dolphy Out to Lunch, Andrew Hill Point of Departure) and made his first 2 albums as a leader: Life Time (1964) and Spring (1965). After Blue Note relaunched in 1984, Williams returned to the label eager to form a new acoustic band as a vehicle to perform his compositions. He headed into the studio in 1985 to record Foreign Intrigue, the first in a remarkable run of 6 brilliant late-career albums. The album featured a set of 7 Williams originals including “Sister Cheryl” and “Takin’ My Time” performed by trumpeter Wallace Roney, alto saxophonist Donald Harrison, vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson, pianist Mulgrew Miller, and bassist Ron Carter.

This Blue Note 80 Vinyl Edition was mastered by Kevin Gray and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

Excluded from sitewide sales/discounts.


  1. Foreign Intrigue (Side A)
  2. My Michele (Side A)
  3. Life Of The Party (Side A)
  4. Takin' My Time (Side B)
  5. Clearways (Side B)
  6. Sister Cheryl (Side B)
  7. Arboretum (Side B)