Shopping Cart
Curtis Amy and Dupree Bolton - Katanga (Blue Note Tone Poet Series) LP
Curtis Amy and Dupree Bolton - Katanga (Blue Note Tone Poet Series) LP

Katanga (Blue Note Tone Poet Series) LP

uDiscover Music

Curtis Amy and Dupree Bolton


Who are these guys? That’s the usual reaction of anyone fortunate enough to have come across this remarkable (and remarkably rare) session from 1963. The last of six albums saxophonist Curtis Amy recorded for Pacific Jazz in the early-1960s, Katanga! transcends not only the rest but plenty of other recorded jazz from that period as well. Trumpeter Dupree Bolton’s brilliant playing here is simply breathtaking in one of his very few recorded appearances during a career plagued with personal problems. Bolton and Amy are joined by guitarist Ray Crawford, pianist Jack Wilson, bassist Victor Gaskin, and drummer Doug Sides on this gem of an album.

Blue Note Records’ Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tape 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio), and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).


A1. Katanga
A2. Lonely Woman
A3. Nativer Land
B1. Amyable
B2. You Don’t Know What Love Is
B3. A Shade of Brown