Shopping Cart

uDiscover Music

Pre-Bird (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) LP

Charles Mingus

For this 1961 release, Mingus chose music composed before he heard the revolutionary playing of Charlie Parker. The album features large ensembles and includes two swing-era contrapuntal ‘mash-ups’, with one song playing out of the left channel and another from the right. Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.

A1. Take the A Train
A2. Prayer For Passive Resistance
A3. Eclipse
A4. Mingus Fingus No. 2
A5. Weird Nightmare
B1. Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me
B2. Bemoanable Lady
B3. Half-Mast Inhibition