Shopping Cart

uDiscover Music

Let ‘Em Roll (Blue Note Tone Poet Series) LP

Big John Patton

Blue Notes roster of Hammond B3 organists was a vibrant and varied bunch that ran the stylistic gamut from Jimmy Smiths virtuosic innovations to Larry Youngs horizon-expanding explorations. Kansas City born dynamo Big John Patton operated in a soul jazz sweet spot throughout his stellar 1960s Blue Note tenure always making sure each of his platters was served with a healthy helping of soul. Patton first appeared as a sideman on Lou Donaldsonalbums The Natural Soul and Good Gracious and later cut his own Blue Note leader debut with 1963’s Along Came John. Perhaps the most uniqueand certainly one of the finestalbums in his discography is Let ‘Em Roll, a fantastic 1965 session that found Patton altering the standard organ trio line-up of guitar (Grant Green) and drums (Otis Finch) by adding vibraphonist Bobby
Hutcherson into the mix (Green had used this same instrumentation to great effect on his album Street of Dreams the year prior). Highlights of the set include the Patton originals Let Em Roll and Latona, a tender performance of the Johnny Mandel ballad The Shadow of Your Smile, and a spirited romp through Hank Mobleys The Turnaround.

The Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series was born out of Blue Note President Don Was’ admiration for the exceptional audiophile Blue Note LP reissues presented by Music Matters. Was brought Joe Harley, a.k.a. the Tone Poet, on board to curate and supervise a series of reissues from the Blue Note family of labels.

Extreme attention to detail has been paid to getting these right in every conceivable way, from the jacket graphics and printing quality to superior LP mastering (direct from the master tapes) by Kevin Gray to superb 180g audiophile LP pressings by Record Technology Inc. Every aspect of these Tone Poet releases is done to the highest possible standard. It means that you will never
find a superior version. This is IT.

This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at Record Technology Inc. (RTI), and packaged in a deluxe gatefold tip-on jacket.


A1. Let ‘Em Roll 
A2. Latona 
A3. The Shadow Of Your Smile 
B1. The Turnaround
B2. Jakey 
B3. One Step Ahead