Shopping Cart
The Allman Brothers Band - Brothers And Sisters LP
The Allman Brothers Band - Brothers And Sisters LP

Brothers And Sisters LP

uDiscover Music

The Allman Brothers Band


When the Allman Brothers Band’s fifth album, Brothers and Sisters, was released on Capricorn Records in August 1973, the legendary southern blues-rock group had already achieved world-wide fame with their 1971 live album, At Fillmore East. This success was followed by the tragic loss of their founder, leader and musical visionary, guitarist Duane Allman, who died in a motorcycle crash on October 29, 1971. Arguably at the peak of their popularity, the band's album followed the release of the two-disc Eat A Peach, which came out on February 12, 1972, the last recording to include contributions by Duane.

While regrouping under the leadership of singer/organist Gregg Allman and guitarist/vocalist Dickey Betts—the last guitarist standing in a group noted for its dual leads—The Allman Brothers Band soldiered on with Brothers and Sisters, which turned out to be their most successful selling recording to date, spending five weeks at #1 and the first to achieve platinum status. To mark its 40th anniversary, the original classic recording,--which includes such Allman standards as “Ramblin’ Man,” “Wasted Words,” “Jessica,” and “Come and Go Blues”—will be re-released in re-mastered form on both CD and vinyl, with deluxe two-CD and four-CD box sets that include previously unreleased rehearsals, jams and outtakes on Universal Music Enterprises.

“Brothers and Sisters documents a band reinventing itself and finding a new direction after a traumatic loss,” says UMe Chairman/CEO Bruce Resnikoff. “The two deluxe editions, through these previously unreleased rehearsals, jams and outtakes, offer a priceless glimpse inside that creative process.”


A1. Wasted Words
A2. Ramblin' Man
A3. Come And Go Blues
A4. Jelly Jelly
B1. Southbound
B2. Jessica
B3. Pony Boy