Shopping Cart
Marvin Gaye - What's Going On 50th Anniversary 2LP
Marvin Gaye - What's Going On 50th Anniversary 2LP

What's Going On 50th Anniversary (2LP)

uDiscover Music

Marvin Gaye


This premium vinyl release features direct-to-analog mastering from the original primary album tape reels by acclaimed engineer Kevin Gray, one of the first times this has been done since 1971, offering an undeniably authentic listening experience. What’s Going On: 50th Anniversary 2LP Edition bonus LP opens up the album’s writing and production palette. Featured are four rare cuts making their vinyl debut, highlighted by a previously unreleased “stripped” version of the title song, plus all six original mono single mixes and their B-sides, with all of those 7” versions on vinyl for the first time since their original releases. With two 180gm records, a tip-on heavy stock jacket, original gatefold with complete lyrics, this formidable release also includes printed sleeves with track details, a rare image from the cover sessions, and a brief essay honoring arranger David Van De Pitte. Highlighted is a main essay by acclaimed author and poet Hanif Abdurraqib who was just named one of the 25 recipients of the 2021 MacArthur “Genius” Grant.


LP 1: Original LP
A1. What’s Going On 3:53
A2. What’s Happening Brother 2:44
A3. Flyin’ High (In The Friendly Sky) 3:50
A4. Save The Children 4:03
A5. God Is Love 1:42
A6. Mercy Mercy Me 3:13
B1. Right On 7:32
B2. Wholy Holy 3:08
B3. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) 5:27

LP 2: Bonus Tracks
A1. What’s Going On stripped version * 3:57
A2. What’s Going On mix 1/no strings or horns 3:54
A3. What’s Going On rhythm & strings instrumental mix 3:50
A4. Symphony demo version 2:49
SIDE 4 - Original Mono Single Mixes
B1. What’s Going On 3:54
B2. God Is Love 2:51
B3. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology) 2:30
B4. Sad Tomorrows 2:22
B5. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) 2:58
B6. Wholy Holy 3:09
Produced by Marvin Gaye
Album Arranged and Orchestra Conducted by David Van DePitte
*Previously Unreleased"