Shopping Cart

uDiscover Music

A Night At The Village Vanguard (Tone Poet Vinyl Edition) 2CD

Sonny Rollins

A Night at the Village Vanguard: The Complete Masters expands legendary tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins’ tour-de-force 1957 live trio album to a 2-CD set and 3-LP set as part of the Tone Poet Vinyl Series. Produced by Joe Harley, the album has been remastered from the never-before-used original analog master tapes by Kevin Gray and comes with a booklet featuring never-before-seen Francis Wolff photos, insightful essays, and a new interview with Rollins in conversation with Don Was.


Disc 1
1. Introduction
2. Old Devil Moon (B. Lane, E.Y. Harburg)
3. Softly As In A Morning Sunrise (O. Hammerstein, S. Romberg)
4. Striver’s Row (Sonny Rollins) 5. Sonnymoon For Two (Sonny Rollins)
6. A Night In Tunisia (D. Gillespie, F. Paparelli)
7. I Can’t Get Started (I. Gershwin, V. Duke)
8. A Night In Tunisia (Evening Take) (D. Gillespie, F. Paparelli)
9. I’ve Got You Under My Skin (Cole Porter)

Disc 2
1. Softly As In A Morning Sunrise (alternate take) (O. Hammerstein, S. Romberg)
2. What Is This Thing Called Love (Cole Porter)
3. All The Things You Are (O. Hammerstein, J. Kern)
4. Introduction
5. Woody ‘N You (Dizzy Gillespie)
6. Four (Miles Davis)
7. I’ll Remember April (Raye, DePaul, Johnston)
8. Get Happy (H. Arlen, T. Koehler)
9. Get Happy (short version)