Shopping Cart

uDiscover Music

Heavy Soul (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series) LP

Ike Quebec

Ike Quebec’s aptly titled 1961 album Heavy Soul was a soul jazz masterclass with the tenor saxophonist joined by Freddie Roach on organ, Milt Hinton on bass, and Al Harewood on drums. Ike’s robust horn conjures a variety of moods from up-tempo swingers to sultry slow-tempo stunners closing with a spellbinding duo rendition of “Nature Boy” with Hinton. This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is stereo, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

A1. Acquitted
A2. Just One More Chance
A3. Que's Dilemma
A4. Brother Can You Spare A Dime
B1. The Man I Love
B2. Heavy Soul
B3. I Want A Little Girl
B4. Nature Boy