Shopping Cart
The Joshua Tree 30th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition 7LP Box Set
The Joshua Tree 30th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition 7LP Box Set

The Joshua Tree 30th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition 7LP Box Set

uDiscover Music



Using the textured sonics of The Unforgettable Fire as its basis, U2 expanded those innovations by scaling back the songs to a personal setting and adding a grittier attack for its follow-up, The Joshua Tree. It's a move that returns them to the sweeping, anthemic rock of War, but if War was an exploding political bomb, The Joshua Tree is a journey through its aftermath, trying to find sense and hope in the desperation. That means that even the anthems -- the epic opener "Where the Streets Have No Name," the yearning "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For" -- have seeds of doubt within their soaring choruses, and those fears take root throughout the album, whether it's in the mournful, sliding acoustic guitars of "Running to Stand Still," the surging "One Tree Hill," or the hypnotic elegy "Mothers of the Disappeared." So it might seem a little ironic that U2 became superstars on the back of such a dark record, but their focus has never been clearer, nor has their music been catchier, than on The Joshua Tree. Unexpectedly, U2 have also tempered their textural post-punk with American influences. Not only are Bono's lyrics obsessed with America, but country and blues influences are heard throughout the record, and instead of using these as roots, they're used as ways to add texture to the music. With the uniformly excellent songs -- only the clumsy, heavy rock and portentous lyrics of "Bullet the Blue Sky" fall flat -- the result is a powerful, uncompromising record that became a hit due to its vision and its melody. Never before have U2's big messages sounded so direct and personal. [The 20th Anniversary reissue of The Joshua Tree cleared the vaults of the B-sides, outtakes, and stray songs U2 released in the wake of the album's 1987 release, so the 30th Anniversary Edition doesn't pack the same kind of revelation as its predecessor. The big addition is the entirety of a concert the band gave at Madison Square Garden in 1987, one where they played almost all of the record. That's the bonus material on the simple two-disc Deluxe Edition, while the hefty Super Deluxe Edition retains almost all the extras from the 20th Anniversary (a single edit of "Where the Streets Have No Name" is absent but not missed), while an alternate mix of "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For" from 1987 has been added, and there's a host of brand new remixes from Daniel Lanois, Brian Eno, Steve Lillywhite, St. Francis Hotel, Flood, and Jacknife Lee. For completists, the hardcover book is more enticing than this handful of new tracks, and for those who are less dedicated -- or on a tighter budget -- picking up the basic Deluxe Edition for the fine live show might not be a bad idea.]


 The Joshua Tree Remastered
A1. Where The Streets Have No Name
A2. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
A3. With Or Without You

B1. Bullet The Blue Sky
B2. Running To Stand Still

C1. Red Hill Mining Town
C2. In God's Country
C3. Trip Through Your Wires

D1. One Tree Hill
D2. Exit
D3. Mothers Of The Disappeared

U2 Live At Madison Square Garden 28th September 1987
E1. Where The Streets Have No Name
E2. I Will Follow
E3. Trip Through Your Wires
E4. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For

F2. Bullet The Blue Sky
F3. Running To Stand Still
F4. In God’s Country
F5. Sunday Bloody Sunday

G1. Exit
G2. October
G3. New Year’s Day
G4. Pride (In The Name Of Love)

H1. With Or Without You
H2. Party Girl
H3. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
H4. “40”

The Joshua Tree Remixes, Outtakes & B-Sides
I1. One Tree Hill (St Francis Hotel Remix)
I2. Bullet The Blue Sky (Jacknife Lee Remix)
I3. Running To Stand Still (Daniel Lanois Remix)

J1. Red Hill Mining Town (Steve Lillywhite 2017 Mix)
J2. With Or Without You (Daniel Lanois Remix)
J3. Where The Streets Have No Name (Flood Remix)

K1. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For (Lillywhite Alternative Mix ’87)
K2. One Tree Hill Reprise (Brian Eno 2017 Mix)
K3. Silver And Gold (Sun City) Featuring – Keith Richards, Ron Wood, Steve Jordan
K4. Beautiful Ghost/Introduction To Songs Of Experience

L1. Wave Of Sorrow (Birdland)
L2. Desert Of Our Love
L3. Rise Up
L4. Drunk Chicken/America

M1. Luminous Times (Hold On To Love)
M2. Walk To The Water
M3. Spanish Eyes

N1. Deep In The Heart
N2. Silver And Gold
N3. Sweetest Thing
N4. Race Against Time