Shopping Cart
Singles 1969-1981 CD
Singles 1969-1981 CD

Singles 1969-1981 CD

uDiscover Music



For the first time, all of the Carpenters’ most significant singles hits have been gathered together on a single disc collection. Carpenters: Singles 1969-1981 (A&M/UME), released May 23, 2000, features all 12 of the enormously popular brother-sister duo’s Top 10 pop hits, including all 10 of Karen and Richard’s gold singles. For any fan of the Carpenters or of ‘70s pop, the 21-song lineup of Carpenters: Singles 1969-1981 comprises the group’s definitive hits collection.
One of the biggest musical acts of the ‘70s, their list of hits reads like a soundtrack for the boomer generation: “(They Long To Be) Close To You” (1969, their first #1), “We’ve Only Just Begun” (#2), “For All We Know” (#3), “Sing” (#3), “Hurting Each Other” (#2), “Rainy Days And Mondays” (#2), “Superstar” (#2), “Top Of The World” (#1) and “Yesterday Once More” (#2), all gold, all timeless pop treasures.
Expanding on their previous hits collection, Singles 1969-1973, released in 1974 and certified seven times platinum, Singles 1969-1981 adds their 1975 gold #1 cover of “Please Mr. Postman,” as well as 1972’s Top 20 “I Won’t Last A Day Without You,” 1975’s #4 hit “Only Yesterday” and the most recent selection, 1981’s “Touch Me When I’m Dancing,” their final Top 20 hit. As a special treat for fans, a reprise version of “For All We Know” from a British television special also is included.
The other tracks on Singles 1969-1981 range from the Carpenters’ first single, their 1969 cover of the Beatles’ “Ticket To Ride” and the Top 20 hit “It’s Going To Take Some Time” to “I Believe You,” “Those Good Old Dreams,” “All You Get From Love Is A Love Song” and “I Need To Be In Love.”


1. For All We Know
2. I Believe You
3. It's Going To Take Some Time
4. We've Only Just Begun
5. Those Good Old Dreams
6. Superstar
7. Rainy Days And Mondays
8. Goodbye To Love
9. All You Get From Love Is A Love Song
10. Top Of The World
11. Only Yesterday
12. Ticket To Ride
13. Hurting Each Other
14. Yesterday Once More
15. Sing
16. Touch Me When We're Dancing
17. Please Mr. Postman
18. I Need To Be In Love
19. I Won't Last A Day Without You
20. (They Long To Be) Close To You
21. For All We Know