Shopping Cart

uDiscover Music

The Rubáiyát Of Dorothy Ashby (Verve By Request Series) LP

Dorothy Ashby

Released on the Cadet label in 1970, this album’s wondrous mix of spiritual and funky jazz and unique instrumentation defy categorization. Harpist Ashby adds the koto, a 13-stringed Japanese instrument to her arsenal, and her long-time arranger Richard Evans blends flutes, vibraphone, oboe, kalimba, and Ashby’s own vocals into a singular and soul-affirming set. Verve By Request Series features 180-gram vinyl, pressed at Third Man in Detroit.

A1. Myself When Young
A2. For Some We Loved
A3. Wax And Wane
A4. Drink
A5. Wine
B1. Dust
B2. Joyful Grass And Grape
B3. Shadow Shapes
B4. Heaven And Hell
B5. The Moving Finger