Shopping Cart
Sons Of Soul 2LP
Sons Of Soul 2LP

Sons Of Soul 2LP

Tony! Toni! Tone!


Unlike previous releases, 'Sons of Soul' was entirely produced by Raphael Saadiq, Timothy Christian Riley, and D’Wayne Wiggins, otherwise known as Tony! Toni! Toné! Released in 1993, the album received tons of critical praise and clamped onto the Billboard 200 for a staggering 43 weeks, eventually earning double Platinum status by the Recording Industy Association of America. Monster singles like “(Lay Your Head On My) Pillow,” “If I Had No Loot,” and “Anniversary” all charted and solidified the group as the hottest proprietors of the ‘90s R&B sound that dominated airwaves at the time.


The album was mostly written and recorded in Trinidad, and intended to pay homage to ‘70s soul and funk, which the crewmembers grew up on. There are currents of Marvin Gaye and Curtis Mayfield throughout, but so are nods to hip-hop with the infusion of scratches and sample collages on specific tracks. The vibe is flirtatious and smooth with top-notch production, aided by colorful instrumentation and samples. Even with the album’s reception, the group parted ways after its release (and eventually re-united). It’s an enormous feat for a completely self-written, self-produced album to garner the critical and commercial success 'Sons Of Soul' did. Some years later, in an interview with the 'Omaha World Herald,' D’Wayne Wiggins would claim that 'Sons of Soul' remains his favorite Tony! Toni! Toné! release.


A1. If I Had No Loot 
A2. What Goes Around Comes Around 
A3. My Ex-Girlfriend 
A4. Tell Me Mama

B1. Leavin' 
B2. Slow Wine 
B3. (Lay Your Head On My) Pillow

C1. I Couldn't Keep It To Myself 
C2. Gangsta Groove 
C3. Tonyies! In The Wrong Key 
C4. Dance Hall

D1. Times Square 2:30 A.M. (Segue) 
D2. Fun 
D3. Anniversary 
D4. Castleers