Shopping Cart
Peggy Lee - Black Coffee (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) LP
Peggy Lee - Black Coffee (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) LP

Black Coffee (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) LP

uDiscover Music

Peggy Lee


Black Coffee, Peggy Lee's 1956 album smash for Decca (she left Capitol in 1952 over creative and artistic differences), presents her in an intimate setting with a top-notch jazz quartet in place of her usual studio orchestra. This smaller combination, including trumpeter Pete Candoli and pianist Jimmy Rowles (two of her favorite sidemen), works to perfection, especially on sultry takes on “It Ain’t Necessarily So”, “Gee, Baby Ain’t I Good To You” and the title track. Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.


A1. Black Coffee 
A2. I've Got You Under My Skin 
A3. Easy Living 
A4. My Heart Belongs To Daddy
A5. It Ain't Necessarily So 
A6. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You 
B1. A Woman Alone With The Blues 
B2. I Didn't KNow What Time It Was 
B3. (Ah, the Apple Trees) When The World Was Young 
B4. Love Me Or Leave Me 
B5. You're My Thrill 
B6. There's A Small Hotel