Shopping Cart
Roxy Music - Avalon LP
Roxy Music - Avalon LP

Avalon LP

uDiscover Music

Roxy Music


Flesh + Blood suggested that Roxy Music were at the end of the line, but they regrouped and recorded the lovely Avalon, one of their finest albums. Certainly, the lush, elegant soundscapes of Avalon are far removed from the edgy avant-pop of their early records, yet it represents another landmark in their career. With its stylish, romantic washes of synthesizers and Bryan Ferry's elegant, seductive croon, Avalon simultaneously functioned as sophisticated make-out music for yuppies and as the maturation of synth pop. Ferry was never this romantic or seductive, either with Roxy or as a solo artist, and Avalon shimmers with elegance in both its music and its lyrics. "More Than This," "Take a Chance with Me," "While My Heart Is Still Beating," and the title track are immaculately crafted and subtle songs, where the shifting synthesizers and murmured vocals gradually reveal the melodies. It's a rich, textured album and a graceful way to end the band's career. [A "half-speed mastered" LP version of Avalon was released in 2017.]


A1. More Than This
A2. The Space Between
A3. Avalon
A4. India
A5. While My Heart Is Still Beating

B1. The Main Thing
B2. Take A Chance With Me
B3. To Turn You On
B4. True To Life
B5. Tara